Inaugural Lecture - Center for Classical Theology - REGISTER
Skip to content

Author’s Corner: Banner of Truth

Each week on Credo we welcome you to join us in the Author’s Corner where we will meet a set of authors whose recent books deserve your attention and might even help you grow in your knowledge of theology, history, philosophy, and the scriptures. We hope the Author’s Corner can keep you up-to-date on the most important books published today and where you can find them.

On today’s Author’s Corner, we present you with two recent sets from Banner of Truth.

Puritan Classics Box Set (Banner of Truth, 2020)

‘Friends have told me that they have discovered books written by some of the Puritans that have been a tremendous help to them! Could you recommend a few classics to me?’

Many Christians ask that question today. Nor are we the first to feel we need someone to guide us. Already in the Puritan period Richard Baxter saw that need — and drew up lists adjusted to finances available. But even his list for the poorest contained around one hundred authors! The Puritan Classics Box Set is more modest in size, certainly, but it presents a single package of attractively produced hardbound editions of some of the most helpful works written in the seventeenth century. All of them came from the ministries of men who were marked by God-centredness, faithfulness to Scripture, and a devotion to pointing people to Christ and maturing them in the faith.

The authors represented here span the years between 1558 (when William Perkins was born) and 1691 (when both Richard Baxter and John Flavel died) — in terms of English history, from the accession of Queen Elizabeth I in 1558 until just after the ‘Glorious Revolution’ of 1688. They all served in pastoral ministry and shared a profound knowledge of Scripture, and had an enviable ability to apply it to the congregations they loved and served.

Here are treasures beyond price that, through the wise investment of our reading and meditation, can make us rich beyond measure. Those who own this box set possess treasure indeed!


This 10 volume box set includes the following 15 titles:

The Art of Prophesying — William Perkins
The Bruised Reed — Richard Sibbes
The Letters of Samuel Rutherford — Samuel Rutherford
The Loveliness of Christ — Samuel Rutherford
A Lifting Up for the Downcast — William Bridge
The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment — Jeremiah Burroughs
Precious Remedies Against Satan’s Devices — Thomas Brooks
The Reformed Pastor — Richard Baxter
The Godly Man’s Picture Drawn with a Scripture Pencil — Thomas Watson
The Doctrine of Repentance — Thomas Watson
All Things For Good — Thomas Watson
The Mystery of Providence — John Flavel
Facing Grief — John Flavel
A Sure Guide to Heaven — Joseph Alleine
Prayer — John Bunyan


These are the best of the Puritan Paperbacks Series, now with Smyth Sewn cloth binding, ribbon markers, and packaged with a 32-page booklet introduction from Sinclair Ferguson.


Treasures of John Owen Box Set (Banner of Truth, 2020) by John Owen

In recent decades, several of Owen’s works have been edited and published in paperback format to make them more readily accessible for Christians in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. Now, in this beautifully produced box set — the Treasures of John Owen — they are being republished in hardback format arranged in five volumes. Within this box set readers will find themselves entering a world of biblical, doctrinal, pastoral and spiritual instruction that is not only accessible to them, but also leads them into a fresh understanding of the greatness of the gospel — what Paul describes as the four-dimensional love of God for us in Christ (‘breadth and length, height and depth’) — and its many practical implications. Here then is a collection of books designed to enable us to grow in both knowledge and grace.


This 5 volume box set includes the following 10 titles by John Owen – abridged and sympathetically modernized for today’s reader:

The Spirit and the Church
Duties of Christian Fellowship
Communion With God
The Mortification of Sin
The Holy Spirit
Temptation: Resisted and Repulsed
The Glory of Christ
Searching Our Hearts in Difficult Times
Indwelling Sin in Believers
Apostasy from the Gospel


These are the best of the Puritan Paperbacks by John Owen, now with Smyth Sewn cloth binding, ribbon markers, and packaged with a 32-page booklet introduction from Sinclair Ferguson.

Credo Editors

This article is brought to you by the Credo Editors

Back to Top